Skip to content

Hey ladies in the place, I’m callin’ out to ya!

May 5, 2017

Maybe it’s because I’m the father of two amazing girls, or perhaps because the strongest figures in my life were almost all women, or maybe it’s just because I’m not an asshole and believe in genuine equality … but I’ve always respected women. I’ve never been big on the “shrink and pink” philosophy that has permeated much of the sports world regarding “women’s specific designs.” I fought that trend hard when I was running things over at Masi Bicycles. There was a huge push to chase sales in those days, trying to capitalize on the trend to develop “WSD” bikes. Some of those designs were genuinely thoughtful, to the credit of those particular brands, but many were simply pink paint jobs on badly designed products. Some of the bikes were damn-near impossible to ride with the super steep seat tube angles, crazy head angles, wonky fork rakes … small wonder many women rejected them after trying them. For Masi, we used the same frames as the men’s in most cases- lighter tubing in smaller sizes- with contact points more biomorphically suited to women- narrower bars, saddles with wider sit bone areas, etc.

But I digress …

One of the things I’m most proud of with the partnership with Castelli is the fact that the #sugarkits are offered in women’s styles. Unlike #shrinkandpink bike designs, Castelli’s women’s clothing has functional features suited to a better fit for a greater number of women. Shorter bib straps, wider hips, proper women’s chamois, and jersey with shorter torso, narrower shoulders, and silhouette more closely matching a woman’s shape. The goal of the kit design itself is to be “universal”, so the artwork works- in my opinion- for anybody who likes to wear stretchy clothing when they ride their bike. And the pink Zevlin bar tape is rad no matter what your gender is … this is Giro month after all!

I’d like to think that, if either of my grandmothers were alive today (and they were two of the biggest influences in my life), that they would say, “that looks really nice, Timmy.” Both of my daughters like the clothing and bar tape- and they have great style, despite being related to me. So, ladies, I hope you dig the kits as much as I do because it was important to me to be able to offer a women’s fit. A properly designed bike is totally genderless, but the fit, form, and function of clothing is one area where thoughtful women’s specific features make sense. Thankfully, Castelli makes some of the best in the business.

#sugarhigh preorder window closes on May 15th, and first 10 paid kit orders receive free Zevlin #sugar tape

Tim aka Sugar

Get it off your chest; we're all friends here.

