Skip to content

BIG NEWS; Castelli clothing partnership-SUGAR kits

March 24, 2016

Finally, I get to let the cat out of the bag!

On January 12th, I was in an accident involving a large pick up truck, which resulted in me spending 5 days in the hospital. The injuries included multiple fractures of my pelvis, two fractures of my right wrist, which lead to surgery to install 5 screws and a plate to repair the bone, among other injuries that have prevented me from being able to fully work… and a growing list of bills and expenses.

Thanks to my former employers at LiFT Creative Studios, a Gofundme campaign was established to begin to help with the immediate needs. I am very thankful to each person who has contributed to help; it means more to me than you know.

Following my exit from the hospital, one of my local friends here who works for Castelli reached out to me with an idea … a really super, awesome idea. It’s no secret that I’m a bit of a Castelli fan, and they have been very generous to me over the years. So when my friend Katie Araujo contacted me to tell me that she, Ian Marshall, and some other friends in Castelli’s USA HQ in Portland had been talking about a way to help me with my expenses, I was more than just a little moved. Yep, I nearly cried, truth be told. After a short conversation on the phone, things were put into motion to create a custom kit that would be sold as a fundraiser, with proceeds going to my growing expenses. Needless to say … I was blown away by the generosity and thoughtfulness of Castelli.

Now the challenge was to come up with something that would be fun, unique, and somehow “me.” Introducing … SUGAR.

Tim-Jackson-16.1-ORANGE-IG-mock

I am so stoked on how this design came out. All the credit goes to Mike Heenan at Castelli. Mike, on top of being a great designer and incredible human being, is also the former team mechanic and Team Manager of the Rapha-FOCUS CX team, from the time I was the Marketing Manager for FOCUS USA. Having him be the person working on the kit design was a massive boost of awesome.

Why Sugar? Well, I’m glad you asked …

Back in 1999, Gary Fisher had a dual suspension MTB platform called “Sugar.” I was working for NiteRider Technical Lighting Systems at the time, and through a friend, I was given a bright yellow t-shirt that said Gary Fisher on the back, and SUGAR in bold letters across the chest. I liked that shirt. As fate would have it, I was wearing that shirt at a friend’s party one night, when another friend arrived to the party with a woman he had recently begun dating. As they walked up, I opened the door, and my friend Spot began to introduce me to his lady-friend. He introduced her to me, then turned to her to give her my name, and before he could say anything she blurted out loudly “SUGAR” upon reading my shirt. And it somehow stuck!

The irony of the name is sorta like calling me Tiny Tim, given that I’m 6’3″ tall. Similarly, the nickname Sugar is ironically fitting since at the time of this party, I was still very active in racing Match Sprint, Keirin, and Kilo on the track … and nearly 200lbs. Sugar became my default racing name on the track, as well as my official name among my San Diego cycling friends. I like to joke that it’s because too much of me is bad for your teeth and will make you fat. I have no idea if that is actually true, but it sounds good on a resumé.

Hence Sugar.


This kit, since it is a fundraiser for my expenses related to my “crash”, has been dubbed #sugarcrash. We’ve all been there … either bonking on a ride, or simply coming down from too many doughnuts in the office on Doughnut Friday. And, it’s a fun way to make the best of a bad situation.

The kits will be on sale until April 15th, via the Castelli custom website. They will be preorder only, so once the order window closes … they will no longer be available.

The following items will be offered;

  • Team Jersey- $90
  • Team Bib Short- $115
  • Vest- $80
  • Thermoflex Arm Warmer- $45
  • Short Sleeve Speedsuit*- $155
  • Long Sleeve Speedsuit*- $165
    *for all you sleek racer-types, if minimum number of pieces are ordered

So if you have any money left over after taxes, or get a whopping return … consider a sweet new Sugar kit. This will hopefully lead to more Sugar kits in the future as well … hopefully.

Thank you to Castelli for this amazing opportunity to turn a really shitty day in January into something a lot more fun, while also hopefully raising a few bucks to go towards medical bills and other expenses as I recover and get back to normal. Well, normal-ish. Thank you also, to all who have offered support, encouragement, and good healing vibes since January 12th- it really, truly does mean more to me than I can adequately express.

Tim

28 Comments leave one →
  1. Amanda permalink
    March 25, 2016 6:51 AM

    Love the Sugar kit, sorry to hear that you were hit. Are these available in women’s sizes? Thanks!

    Like

    • Tim Jackson permalink*
      March 25, 2016 7:01 AM

      Thanks, Amanda- yes, women’s bibs and jerseys are both available. Castelli’s women’s clothing is some of the best … in my humbly biased opinion.

      Like

    • Graeme permalink
      March 26, 2016 10:18 PM

      Do you ship to Australia?

      Like

      • Tim Jackson permalink*
        March 26, 2016 10:19 PM

        Castelli absolutely will ship to Australia! And thanks for even asking and having a look.

        Like

  2. umpire87 permalink
    March 25, 2016 9:45 AM

    Tim…..curious to know how much of the purchase goes toward your expenses……..? If I purchase a kit……how much will that be helping you as opposed to just a donation on the gofundme…… Thank you for your time………

    Like

    • Tim Jackson permalink*
      March 25, 2016 9:54 AM

      Ump- it’s a good chunk. 😁

      Obviously, Gofundme is a more direct way to help. The kit idea is just a cool way to raise funds, while also giving people something fun as a reward, of sorts.

      Like

  3. March 25, 2016 12:20 PM

    Cool design. Is black the only option or are there any high visibility colors with the same design?

    Like

    • Tim Jackson permalink*
      March 25, 2016 12:27 PM

      At the moment, there is only the black body. I gave your comment a lot of thought in the process. Since I was hit in daylight, visibility did come to mind. That said, we went with the darker design … but we did play with some brighter designs … and one never knows what might happen in the future.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Jimmy Wong Liong permalink
    March 26, 2016 2:12 PM

    Order in Get well.

    Like

    • Tim Jackson permalink*
      March 26, 2016 2:13 PM

      Thank you! Sincerely. And please be sure to post pics in the kit!

      Like

  5. March 27, 2016 8:38 AM

    How do I order? I clicked on the link to the Team site but don’t see the kit or how to order.

    Like

    • Tim Jackson permalink*
      March 27, 2016 8:42 AM

      Once you get to team site, create a login, then look for Tim Jackson 16.1. Should work from there. And THANK YOU for having a look.

      Like

      • March 27, 2016 8:49 AM

        I missed the “Confirm Password” so it wasn’t creating my account or giving me an error! Finally saw that field on my phone. Completed that and my order! Can’t wait for the jersey.

        Like

      • Tim Jackson permalink*
        March 27, 2016 8:53 AM

        Again, thank you.

        Like

  6. Karen permalink
    March 29, 2016 11:51 AM

    I like your design but unfortunately can’t order under the link you provided. I tried entering a new customer email but kept getting the failure notice ” Missing Project Code”. There’s no such field to enter such a code, which I don’t have anyway. Maybe you wish to bring that feedback to the attention of whoever’s hosting the page- Sorry you miss out due the bad design of the ordering page.

    Like

    • Tim Jackson permalink*
      March 29, 2016 11:56 AM

      Karen, sorry for the hiccup. When I first tried to login the very first time, I couldn’t get in either. I tried a few times and got in. If you do feel like trying at another time, the project code (which I failed to mention in the post) is Tim Jackson 16.1.

      Sorry for the frustrating experience, and thank you for even trying- as well as the feedback.

      Like

  7. EJ Inigo permalink
    March 30, 2016 11:20 AM

    Hey Tim,
    Sorry to hear about the circumstance, but DIGGING the idea! Two questions, do you know if there are enough numbers for the SS speedsuits (thinking about L/XL for me and XS for Wife). And, are these typical Castelli race cut sizing (meaning on the small side of small)? Oh, also, any idea of any warranty? Actually, I’ll PM you on that. Thanks!

    Like

  8. March 30, 2016 3:03 PM

    Tim, I tried to post a question earlier, but I guess it didn’t take. Really sorry about your circumstance, and hope you heal quickly, but thrilled about this idea!
    Two questions and possibly another for PM.
    1. Do you have any idea if there are the numbers to get the SS speedsuit (thinking 1@ for me and my Wife)?
    2. Are these the really thin Castelli material, AND does sizing run the “typical” Castelli small side of small?
    Thanks, and best wishes!

    Like

    • Tim Jackson permalink*
      March 30, 2016 5:50 PM

      Sorry for the delayed reply- been running around all day today.

      I just checked the current order status, and the minimum has been met for the Speedsuits (short sleeve)! WOOHOO! (This means I can get mine too!)

      I haven’t ridden in the Castelli Speedsuits previously, so I’m less familiar with them specifically. That said, they are based off the Team fit- to my understanding- so they run snug … as a “speed” suit should.

      Thank for you for the inquiry and the support. Sincerely.

      Tim

      Like

  9. May 15, 2016 5:04 PM

    When are these being ordered? I haven’t received it yet.

    Like

    • Tim Jackson permalink*
      May 15, 2016 5:08 PM

      Kits are in production, will be shipping in June, and I will post update on delivery very soon- thank you for patience.

      Like

Trackbacks

  1. #thankyou | Two Wheels and Half a Brain
  2. Sugar kit update & THANKS | Two Wheels and Half a Brain
  3. Kit of the Week: Timothy Jackson's #SUGARCRASH Kit | @Cycleboredom
  4. Sugar Kit Update; the COUNTDOWN | Two Wheels and Half a Brain
  5. FINAL DAY! #theendisnigh | Two Wheels and Half a Brain
  6. UPDATED: BIG NEWS (again) – Sugar Kits #hugeinjapan | Two Wheels and Half a Brain
  7. #sugarhigh- The second coming of Sugar! | Two Wheels and Half a Brain

Get it off your chest; we're all friends here.

