Skip to content

Thank you, ladies!

March 8, 2016

Today is International Women’s Day. Although I believe every day should be women’s day, because women are to be celebrated daily like everybody else. I look forward to it just being the normal reality, when discrimination is eliminated, and women are no longer objects or legislated about. 
But, since we aren’t there yet …

I am the son of a strong woman, the grandson of two very strong women, I have been married to strong women, and I am the proud father of two incredible daughters who I pledge to support until my death to become strong women. I have innumerable friends who are also strong women. Yes, I’ve had my heart crushed by strong women too … but I wouldn’t change a thing. I’ve always been attracted to strong women. Why? Because that is the example I was shown, and grew up with.

Here’s an example; my father’s mother- Dorothy Jackson (my oldest daughter’s middle name inspiration) worked for the Army Corps of Engineers during World War II, working on the design of the Tennessee Tombigbee Waterway’s canals and locks. She was also a teacher, a wife, a mother, and had been an allstar women’s baseball player. SHE was, and remains, one of the biggest influences in my life. I celebrate her life every day.

Women are, and always have been, my equals, my peers, and my friends. Frankly, I’ve always gotten along better with women than men. And I’m totally ok with that.

So, today and every day I celebrate women. Strong or not. ALL women- because I celebrate life- and because I want both of my daughters to grow up in a world that respects them for who they are, rather than what they are. I want them to have a world to live in that respects their minds, not just their bodies. A world where they are free to make their own decisions about their bodies, rather than having politicians- overwhelmingly male- making those decisions for them. I want them to be given the exact same opportunities that I was given at birth simply because I was born with a penis.

Thank you to all the women who inspire me, influence me, love me, like me, hate me … I am eternally grateful to you all.

Tim

No comments yet

Get it off your chest; we're all friends here.

